Staff

Stéphanie BAUMBERGER Professor

Lignocellulosic Biopolymers: from Cell Wall Assemblies to Synthons for Green Chemistry

I am leader of the IJPB research team Apsynth where I investigate lignin structural variability and functionalities for a better use of biorefinery recalcitrant waste. I coordinated the Zelcor project (H2020 BBI-JU) and I am responsible for the Master degree Bioceb.
ADAPTATION & METABOLISM BIOTECH Biomass & Cell Wall
Scientific objectives
Through my research and teaching activities, I develop an integrated approach of lignin valorisation. This approach aims at reducing the environmental impact and improving competitivity of lignocellulose biorefineries, following a « zero-waste » objective. Together with the organic chemists and biochemists of the Apsynth team, I exploit the structural diversity and multifunctionality of these phenolic compounds to design new routes for the production of functional moleucles (antioxidants), polymers for plastics, or chemical intermediates. These works imply collaborations with industrial partners producing lignins (paper industry and biorefinery) and with endusers (building sector, plasturgy, cosmetics). They benefit from a network of academic experts of chemical, physico-chemical and biological biomass-conversion. I wish to reinforce in the years to come the interactions with teams involved in the plant selection and engineering, in order to demonstrate the possibility to take into account lignin quality criteria as soon as plant production, and identify in planta some structures of gognitive or applied interest.

Major results
  • Reinforcement of the water resistance of thermoplastic starch films by electron-beam irradiation in the presence of lignins
  • Influence of oxidative systems and their implementation conditions on the polymerisation of lignin precursors in vitro
  • Interest of combining lignin fractionation and lignin depolymerisation by ionic liquids to produce antioxidant oligomers
  • Lignin modification induced by fungal and bacterial oxido-reductases  
Recent publications
Garajova et al. (2021), Eur. J. Wood Wood Prod., DOI:10.1007/s00107-021-01720-3
Gerbin et al. (2021), Intern. J. Biol. Macrom., DOI:10.1021/acs.biomac.0c00583
Rivière et al. (2021), Sustain. Mat. Technol., DOI:10.1016/j.susmat.2021.e00269
Daou et al. (2021), J. Fungi., DOI:10.3390/jof7010039
Jusselme et al. (2020), Open access J. Microbiol. Biotechnol., DOI:10.23880/oajmb-16000169
Holt et al. (2020), J. Agric. Food Chem., DOI:10.1021/acs.jafc.0c06308
Vachon et al. (2020), Composites Part C: Open Access., DOI:10.1016/j.jcomc.2020.100044
Chimie verte et industries agro-alimentaires – Vers une bioéconomie durable, S. Baumberger (coordinatrice), Lavoisier, 2020
Gerbin et al. (2020), Biomacromolecules, DOI:10.1021/acs.biomac.0c00583
Majira et al. (2019), Chem. Sus. Chem., DOI:10.1002/cssc.201901916
Rachid et al. (2018), ACS Chem. Biol., 13, 2920-2929
Broussard et al. (2016), Holzforschung, DOI 10.1515/hf-2015-0111
Aguié-Béghin et al. (2015), J. Agric. Food Chem., 63, 10022-10031

 
Projects and networks : European projects H2020 Zelcor (BBI-JU 2016-2020) and MILIMO (ERA CoBioTech 2020-2023); ANR project Funclipro (2020-2023); Institut Carnot 3BCar GDR Symbiose Competitiveness cluster « Industries and Agro-Resources » (IAR)



Teaching
I coordinate trainings in the field of Bioeconomy at AgroParisTech. I supervise the engineer track « Biorefiney – Green chemistry » (2nd et 3rd year AgroParisTech), and the Erasmus + Master Bioceb (M1-M2) attached to the Mention « Biologie Intégrative et Physiologie » of the Université Paris-Saclay (School BASE). Co-leader of the Domain Committee « Ingénierie des aliments, biomolécules et énergie » of AgroParisTech, I favour pluridisciplinary courses, related to industry and including practical activities (visit of industrial sites, projects, international mobility …).

Stéphanie Baumberger

Contacts

Lignocellulosic Biopolymers: from Cell Wall Assemblies to Synthons for Green Chemistry


www.agroparistech.fr
www.zelcor.eu
www.bioceb.eu
Back

Annuaire

Stéphanie BAUMBERGER Professeure

Biopolymères lignocellulosiques : des assemblages pariétaux aux synthons pour la chimie verte

Enseignante-Chercheuse, j’anime l’équipe IJPB Apsynth au sein de laquelle j’étudie la variabilité structurale et les fonctionnalités des lignines pour une meilleure valorisation des co-produits de bioraffinerie. J'ai coordonné le projet Zelcor (H2020 BBI-JU) et je suis responsable du master Bioceb.
ADAPTATION ET MÉTABOLISME BIOTECH Biomasse & paroi cellulaire
Objectifs scientifiques
Je développe une approche intégrée de la valorisation des lignines. Cette approche vise à réduire l’impact environnemental et augmenter la rentabilité des bioraffineries des lignocelluloses suivant un objectif « zéro-déchet ». Avec les chimistes organiciens et les biochimistes de l’équipe Apsynth, j’exploite la diversité structurale et la multifonctionnalité de ces constituants phénoliques pour concevoir des voies d’obtention de molécules fonctionnelles (antioxydants), de polymères pour les plastiques ou encore de synthons pour la chimie. Ces travaux font l’objet de collaborations avec les industriels producteurs de lignines (papeteries et bioraffineries) ou utilisateurs finaux (construction, plasturgie, cosmétique) et bénéficient également d’un réseau de partenaires académiques spécialistes des processus chimiques, physico-chimiques ou biologiques de conversion de la biomasse. Je souhaite renforcer dans les années qui viennent les interactions avec les équipes impliquées dans la sélection et l’ingénierie des plantes, pour démontrer la possibilité de prendre en compte les critères de qualité des lignines dès la production de la plante et identifier des structures d’intérêt cognitif ou appliqué.

Résultats majeurs
  • Renforcement de la résistance à l’eau de films d’amidon thermoplastiques par irradiation sous faisceau d’électrons en présence de lignines
  • Influence des systèmes d’oxydation et de leurs conditions de mises en œuvre sur la polymérisation des précurseurs de lignines in vitro
  • Intérêt de combiner le fractionnement des lignines et leur dépolymérisation par des liquides ioniques pour obtenir des oligomères antioxydants
  • Modifications des lignines induites par des oxydo-réductases d’origine fongique ou bactérienne
Publications récentes
Garajova et al. (2021), Eur. J. Wood Wood Prod., DOI:10.1007/s00107-021-01720-3
Gerbin et al. (2021), Intern. J. Biol. Macrom., DOI:10.1021/acs.biomac.0c00583
Rivière et al. (2021), Sustain. Mat. Technol., DOI:10.1016/j.susmat.2021.e00269
Daou et al. (2021), J. Fungi., DOI:10.3390/jof7010039
Jusselme et al. (2020), Open access J. Microbiol. Biotechnol., DOI:10.23880/oajmb-16000169
Holt et al. (2020), J. Agric. Food Chem., DOI:10.1021/acs.jafc.0c06308
Vachon et al. (2020), Composites Part C: Open Access., DOI:10.1016/j.jcomc.2020.100044
Chimie verte et industries agro-alimentaires – Vers une bioéconomie durable, S. Baumberger (coordinatrice), Lavoisier, 2020
Gerbin et al. (2020), Biomacromolecules, DOI:10.1021/acs.biomac.0c00583
Majira et al. (2019), Chem. Sus. Chem., DOI:10.1002/cssc.201901916
Rachid et al. (2018), ACS Chem. Biol., 13, 2920-2929
Broussard et al. (2016), Holzforschung, DOI 10.1515/hf-2015-0111
Aguié-Béghin et al. (2015), J. Agric. Food Chem., 63, 10022-10031



Projets et réseaux : Projets européens H2020 Zelcor (BBI-JU 2016-2020) et MILIMO (ERA CoBioTech 2020-2023) Projet ANR Funclipro (2020-2023) Institut Carnot 3BCar GDR Symbiose Pôle de compétitivité « Industries et Agro-Ressources » (IAR)

 

Enseignement
Je coordonne une offre pédagogique internationale dans le domaine de la bioéconomie à AgroParisTech. Je suis responsable du parcours ingénieur « Bioraffinerie – Chimie verte » (2ème et 3ème année AgroParisTech) et du master Erasmus + Bioceb (M1-M2) rattaché à la mention « Biologie Intégrative et Physiologie » de l’Université Paris-Saclay (School BASE). Co-animatrice de la Commission de Domaine « Ingénierie des aliments, biomolécules et énergie » d’AgroParisTech, je m’attache à mettre en place des enseignements pluridisciplinaires, en relation avec le monde industriel et laissant une part importante au terrain (visite de sites, projets, mobilité internationale …).
Stéphanie Baumberger

Contacts

Biopolymères lignocellulosiques : des assemblages pariétaux aux synthons pour la chimie verte


www.agroparistech.fr
www.zelcor.eu
www.bioceb.eu
Retour